The Nature of Waiting

A good evening to you, my fellow travelers.

I was hit with several moments of inspiration on my way home tonight so you can add this entry to the list. The nature of waiting.

Since I decided to make the move to New Zealand some, lordy, two years ago, was it? Dang…anyway, yes. Since I made the decision, my life has seemed to shift into one big, drawn out waiting game. I’m waiting till I save enough money, I’m waiting to apply for my visa, I’m waiting to book a plane ticket, I’m waiting to apply for jobs. Just hurry up and wait already!

This is a rather frustrating and exhausting way to live your life for such an extended period of time. Things aren’t so bad in the beginning, but steadily get harder as the days count down. It is similar to the wait leading up to a big trip, but different in that it is still easy to go about your normal, everyday life because your normal everyday life isn’t going to cease to exist once you leave.

That’s what I’m struggling with now, travelers. I keep getting so caught up and distracted with thinking about what I have to do to be ready for the move, what things I need to take care of before I arrive, what needs to be done before I leave. I get so wrapped up thinking and worrying about all that that I forget I’m still living a life right here right now. I forget there are things that need to, and can be, attended to this very moment.

Don’t worry. It’s not like I’ve let myself get so distracted that I’ve forgotten to feed my cat for the past three months (that’s what the Old Man is for). It’s sillier things, like doing the dishes, working in the garden, rearranging my room, or cleaning my car. Right now, 3 months doesn’t seem like a whole lot of time to get done all I need to get done. But 3 months is 3 months, and my mother would be the first to assure me there’s still plenty of time for me to mow the lawn.

I guess what I’m saying is that, if you’re anything like me and often get buried deep in your own thoughts, try not to get so buried that you forget to keep living your life right now. Don’t get so busy thinking about what your life might be like that you ignore what you have right now. Because, at the risk of sounding a bit dramatic, at some point, life as you know it is going to end. And once it’s over, there may be some things you miss you didn’t even know you cared about until they’re gone.

Do me a favor, dear travelers, regardless of if you’re about to embark on a big, life changing move: take a day just for you, to do all the big and small things you’ve been neglecting or putting off, no matter how big or small or how silly or serious. Be present and listen to what you really want to do, right then and there. I don’t think we do this often enough.

Don’t let the waiting detract from the now, and don’t let the future distract from the present.

~Ren

Leave a Reply

