Updates from the new home

I was trying to think of a creative title but I couldn’t come up with anything. So let’s just call it what it is.

I’ve officially moved into my new home. I’ve officially purchased my new (old) car. I officially have access to my New Zealand bank account. As far as I’m concerned, I have completed all the necessary tasks to be considered a “resident” of New Zealand.

I spent most of my day sorting through the measly amount of possessions I brought with me, making a list of all those household items I needed to feel like a functioning adult again and then went off to the shop and bought those things.

Good lord, I’ve never felt more like a college freshman in all my life. Which I guess is saying something since I’ve been a college and didn’t feel this way then.

I spent at least 10 minutes contemplating a lamp purchase, and then seemed to have purchased the mostly poorly designed, difficult to assemble and crooked lamp in existence, and then I spent 20 minutes figuring out which bloody lightbulbs to buy! I had two thoughts as I stood there staring at the wall of bulbs: 1) I’m really glad no one else needs lightbulbs today, and 2) have I really never bought lightbulbs before?! I mean, I’m sure things are a bit different between buying bulbs in the States versus NZ, but still!

Once I got home I spent the rest of my time assembling drawers, sorting papers, hanging clothes and just generally trying to get my life together. I also spent a good deal of time wondering why in the hell I thought it was a good idea to buy black sheets and a cheap, red microfiber blanket that I should’ve known was going to send red bits of fluff everywhere (which it has; I had to change my shirt after I pulled it out of the wash!) But, at the end of they day, I feel that significant progress has been made.

(This is a really random tangent but I just had to put it in here…it’s very weird living with non-vegans. Anyway…)

So, enough of the written description of my day, how about a few pictures, eh?

IMG_4154

First, New Zealand supermarkets have better grammar than ones in the States.

giphy

Weird Al gets it.

IMG_4155

This is what my book collection has been reduced to. This picture honestly makes me sad and feel on the verge of at least a single tear.

IMG_4156

FoCo represent! (Odell Brewing, Old Firehouse Books, Equinox Brewing) My flatmate gave me some shit for these and the ones on my computer case.

IMG_4157

Here’s my new baby, clover and all, basking in a glorious New Zealand sunset. I hope you’re as lucky as my last car Lucky 2.0

Tomorrow I’ll take some pictures of my new place to post for you. For now…I’m not sure what I’m going to do. Finish dinner, and then…I don’t know.

~Ren

Leave a Reply

