Here we are, your new home! (In my best Joo Dee impression)

Alright travelers, I’ve fallen off the blogging bandwagon a bit. It might sound surprising, but my life hasn’t exactly been the most thrilling lately.

I know what you’re probably thinking, ‘You just moved to a new country. New Zealand! It’s supposed to be amazing there! And you say your life is boring?’ Well hear me out. When you move to a new place and are completely starting your life over from scratch, there are a few things you have to take care of first before you go running of to have amazing adventures and mini vacations. The last few days I’ve been passing the time buy voraciously reading the second installment of book series I love, catching up on several of my favorite Youtubers, furnishing my room and wandering around Matamata to get to know the place better.

See? Not the most exciting things to blog about. But necessary, I feel. You have to do a good bit of nesting when you arrive in a new place, or at least I do. I feel like I’m coming out of the nesting phase and into the adventuring phase. I’ve got a few things in mind to do in my last two weeks before work starts. But I’ll get to that a bit later. For now, I thought I would share my new digs with all those people who have not yet seen them. So here we go!

IMG_4169

My lovely new home. It’s about 2 minutes drive from town, just far enough away to get you away from the noise. The whole place is surrounded by paddocks as well (there are two horses in residence) so it gives us some space between the neighbors too.

IMG_4170

Comes with a lovely outdoor seating area, perfect for parties and BBQs. I’ve spent several days sitting out here reading and enjoying the weather.

IMG_4178

IMG_4179

IMG_4180

IMG_4181

A few shots of my new room. It’s a good size but feels very freshman dorm room. Certainly not my best work but I’m working with what I have. I’ve got a TARDIS on my wall, what more do you want?

So there is a taste of what my life is like now. I’m settling in nicely and my flatmates are all very cool. One of them even found me a new friend! Maybe. We’ll see.

I’m most likely going out on Friday to shadow a tour at Hobbiton. It will be my first time going out and looking at it as a job not just a nerdtastic time. Wish me luck! I’ll let you know how it goes.

~Ren

One thought on “Here we are, your new home! (In my best Joo Dee impression)

Leave a Reply

