6 Signs That You Work At Hobbiton (and other goings on)

Hello hello hello, travelers! Sorry it’s been an age since I’ve written you a blog post! I’ve been kept rather busy with work and spending time with work mates. But with the Christmas holiday just around the corner I’m lucky enough to find myself with a few days off. So I am going to write you a lovely big blog post about a few things that have been happening in my life.

I talked a bit about work in my last blog but I want to talk about it a bit more, this time with pictures! Over the last few weeks of working, I’ve noticed there are a few things nearly all the Hobbiton guides have in common. So I thought I’d put together a little list, a ‘You know you work at Hobbiton when…’ sort of thing. So, here goes.

1. The Hobbiton V. This is a distinct tan line found just below the collar bone. Those guides who like to leave a button or two undone on their shirts will likely have this etched in their skin for some time.

2. Tan lines in all the wrong places. Here you can see me sporting a lovely ring and bracelet set as well as a pair of stockings.

3. Callouses. (Maybe this one is just me since I’m new.)IMG_44094. Even if you’re not a hat person, you wear a hat all the time and are very familiar with hat hair. IMG_44145. During your work week, you have two fashion styles: oilskin or no oilskin.

6. You have the only nametag you won’t mind wearing because it says Hobbiton on it and who doesn’t want to flaunt that? Also, thanks to me, you’re probably also sporting one of these kickass badges.

When I’m not working, I’m taking almost every chance I get to hang out with my work mates. There are lots of cool people that work at Hobbiton. Usually we are out having a drinking, chatting and laughing and having a good time. There are a few musicians at Hobbiton as well, so I went out and got my live music fix.

(I’ve noticed a popular trend here seems to be taking lots of selfies when someone leaves their phone unattended for a minute. Those top three are a sampling from 22 photos. A big sorry-not-sorry to Harry and Chris. And Mr. Mike McKinley on guitar there on the bottom right. )

I had a particularly good day last Friday. My fellow nerds will know the new Star Wars movie was recently released, so I went with a coworker and his flatmate to see it and got to watch in serious style.

IMG_4397

Never before had I gotten to enjoy a film while sitting in a big comfy recliner. I had a footrest, too! And got to sip on Jameson while I watched! It was a good time. And the movie, while it hurt my heart a bit, was also good.

However, before I saw the movie, I had gotten something even better.

IMG_4390

That’s right. The first care package! And what a good one it was.

My mother used her badass Tetris skills and packed up this box with a few treasures I couldn’t bring with me. I can now listen to music not played through my phone or laptop AND I can listen to music in my car. I can also watch DVDs on my laptop, drink my lovely Strawberry Sunrise Rooibis tea in my wicked TARDIS mug and color my awesome dragon coloring book. And I even have some presents to open on Christmas.

My flatmates and mother can vouch for just how jazzed I was to see this box in front of my door.

Also, I got veggies from the Hobbiton garden. Are you jelly? Of course you are.

IMG_4394

If any of you are wondering how I’m handling Christmas away from friends and family, I can tell you it will be quite alright. The Head Guide at Hobbiton is hosting an Orphan Christmas for all of us far from home. And I’ve got some plans to see mates during my days off. Of course it won’t be the same as seeing all my loved ones back home, and there is no snow here, but I’ll enjoy it all the same.

I hope all my friends and family back home have a lovely holiday, as well as all my other readers. Thanks for reading, and happy holidays!

~Ren

One thought on “6 Signs That You Work At Hobbiton (and other goings on)

Leave a Reply

