Review: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K Jemisin

The_Hundred_Thousand_Kingdoms_NK_JemisinWhat to say about The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. I did have some things to say but it has been so long now since I’ve finished the book that I can’t remember all of them. But here we go anyway.

I’d heard good things about N.K. Jemisin and knew she had a couple successful series. It was against my better judgement to pick up the first book in a trilogy while I’m traveling were I wont be guaranteed to find the second book anytime soon. But I needed something to read.

The premise of the book is original. Jemisin has created a completely new world with its own laws and cultures and gods and a sordid past. The story was interesting but I think the thing I had the hardest time with was the pacing and the writing style, to a degree.

The story is written in first person, which is fine, but it tends to jump around a bit as far as timing. There are moments where the main character remembers back to stories she’s been told or things about her mother, and sometimes the transition back to reality is a bit confusing. Sometimes it’s hard to see where the flashback and the present are meant to connect.

With the pacing, it felt like there were a few false climaxes. Which itself isn’t really a bad thing, that can help build the tension, but I think there were a few too many moments like that so I just found myself getting impatient for the actual conclusion of the story.

I did enjoy the world building and all the originality, and there were a few surprises or two tossed in as well. Certainly not my favorite fantasy book but it was an enjoyable read and others might not have the same problems I did.

(Also, totally random tidbit that has nothing to do with the book; my bookmark magically transported itself forward like 60 pages at some point so when I carried on reading things were making sense but I had no idea how I’d gotten there…until I realized. *sigh*)

~Ren

Leave a Reply

